apply for phase 0 today

who is eligible?

Given the goals of this program – there are a variety of eligibility criteria:

  • U. S. Women-owned or U. S. socially and economically disadvantaged small businesses, located anywhere in the U. S. and its territories that work with advanced technologies,
  • OR
  • any U. S. small, advanced technology firms currently located in the following under represented states, districts, and territories: AK, DC, GA, HI, IA, ID, IN, KS, LA, ME, MN, MS, MT ,NC, ND, NE, NY, OK, PA, PR, RI, SC, SD, WA, WI
  • AND
  • has NEVER received a DOE SBIR/STTR award.


The following states, districts and territories are currently identified by the DOE SBIR/STTR Programs Office as under represented in terms of the number of applications received and awarded DOE SBIR/STTR grants: Alaska, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Washington, Washington DC, and Wisconsin

A WOSB is a small business concern that is at least 51 percent directly and unconditionally owned and controlled by one or more women who are citizens (born or naturalized) of the United States.

Under the Small Business Act (15 USC 637), the U.S. Federal government defines the following socially and economically disadvantaged small business ownership as:

  • Black Americans
  • Hispanic Americans
  • Native Americans (Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, or enrolled members of a Federally or State recognized Indian Tribe)
  • Asian Pacific Americans (persons with origins from Burma, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Brunei, Japan, China (including Hong Kong), Taiwan, Laos, Cambodia (Kampuchea), Vietnam, Korea, The Philippines, U.S. Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (Republic of Palau), Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Samoa, Macao, Fiji, Tonga, Kiribati, Tuvalu, or Nauru); and
  • Subcontinent Asian Americans (persons with origins from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, the Maldives Islands or Nepal)

This coverage extends only to socially and economically disadvantaged citizens of the United States or those who have been lawfully admitted permanent U.S. residency (13 CFR 124.103).

Apply today!

FY2018 Phase I Release 2

Before applying for the DOE Phase 0 Assistance Program, please check out the topics on the DOE SBIR webpage.

As an applicant, I understand that my participation in the Phase 0 Assistance Program does not provide me with preferential treatment from the DOE or other advantages over applicants not participating in the Phase 0 Assistance Program. That is, all applications submitted to a DOE SBIR/STTR Phase I Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) are administratively screened without regard to participation in the Phase 0 program to ensure that the application meets the FOA requirements and evaluated on a competitive basis against other applicants within the same technical program area.

© dawnbreaker, inc 2014